Pizza Pizza low-key releases a vegan cheese

Following the news of Ben & Jerry’s secret release of new vegan ice cream flavours and then the surprise release of Breyers almond milk Oreo ice cream it seems like Canadian company Pizza Pizza is following the trend of pulling a Beyoncé and released a dairy free cheese with no publicity. The cheese showed up within the last few days on the online ordering options.


The only information on the “cheeze” is the ingredients Pizza Pizza has posted on their website.


I have emailed the company to try and find out more on this release.

Review

A fellow vegan posted about the release of Pizza Pizza’s vegan cheese on Facebook and I knew that I needed to try it as Pizza Pizza was my go to pizza place before I went vegan. As soon as I saw her post I knew Wednesday nights dinner was decided.

I ordered a medium regular crust pizza with tomato sauce, the dairy free “cheeze,” roasted garlic, caramelized onion, spinach and fire roasted red peppers.


I actually really liked this vegan cheese. It does not have the texture of real cheese but it goes well on pizza. The texture is sticky and almost has a peanut butter effect where it will stick to the roof of your mouth but it does have a good flavour. It’s not overpowering like some vegan cheese can be, so it doesn’t take away from the overall flavour of the pizza. I shared this pizza with my mom who is not vegan but will try most of the vegan food I bring home. She said that the flavour isn’t bad but that she can’t get over the sticky texture so she wouldn’t be eating it again. I, on the other hand, am excited to try different mixtures of toppings and to try a panzerotti with this vegan cheese.


As most Canadians know you can’t have Pizza Pizza without the Creamy Garlic dipping sauce so I made my own with a mixture of vegan mayonnaise, roasted garlic and Club House Garlic Plus seasoning. Yumm!

Leave a Reply

